Update userguide translations

Also purge old documents
This commit is contained in:
Autocommitter
2018-10-20 16:28:58 -04:00
committed by waddlesplash
parent 4fd69b6cc2
commit 7852aa0525
323 changed files with 2291 additions and 7101 deletions
+2 -1
View File
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@
<head>
<!--
*
* Copyright 2008-2015, Haiku. All rights reserved.
* Copyright 2008-2018, Haiku. All rights reserved.
* Distributed under the terms of the MIT License.
*
* Authors:
@@ -125,6 +125,7 @@
<ul>
<li><p>Activating <span class="menu">Safe mode</span> will prevent most servers, daemons and the UserBootscript from being started.</p></li>
<li><p>Activating <span class="menu">Disable user add-ons</span> will prevent using any add-ons (drivers, translators, etc.) you have installed in the user hierarchy under your Home folder.</p></li>
<li><p>If activating <span class="menu">Use fail-safe graphics driver</span> solves your troubles by falling back to VESA graphics, you can make the setting permanent by removing the <tt>#</tt> of the line <i>#fail_safe_video_mode true</i> in the text file <span class="path">/boot/home/config/settings/kernel/drivers/kernel</span>.</p></li>
<li><p>If the offending driver, add-on etc. is installed in the system hierarchy, things get a bit more complicated, because that area is read-only. Here, the <span class="menu">Blacklist entries</span> comes into play. With it, you can navigate through the whole system hierarchy and disable the component that's messing things up for you by checking an entry with the <span class="key">SPACE</span> or <span class="key">RETURN</span> key. <span class="key">ESC</span> returns you up one level to the parent directory.</p>
<p>Online, there's the article <a href="http://www.haiku-os.org/blog/barrett/2013-12-15_how_permanently_blacklist_package_file">How to Permanently Blacklist a Package File</a> showing how to make that setting stick.</p></li>
<li><p>Under <span class="menu">Select boot volume</span> you can specify what former "version" of Haiku to boot. Every time you un/install a package, the old state is saved and you can boot into it by choosing it from the list presented in the boot loader options.<br />